NOMA Announces Julie Livaudais George As President Of Board Of Trustees

Seven New Board Members and NOMA Volunteer Committee Chair Appointed

NEW ORLEANS, LA- NOMA has named Julie Livaudais George as president of its board of trustees, and has appointed seven new trustees to the board as well as a new NOMAVolunteer Committee Chair. George replaces David F. Edwards who oversaw a comprehensive strategic planning process during his two year term. The seven new trustees are: Scott Cowen, Margo Dubos, Stephanie Feoli, Dennis Lauscha, Janice Parmalee, Britton Sanderford and Micheal Smith. Joni Diaz will serve as Chair of the NOMA Volunteer Committee.

Julie Livaudais George is a Partner and Head of the Labor and Employment Law Section at the New Orleans law firm Chaffe McCall, LLP. A New Orleans native, she is a graduate of Country Day School, Stanford University, and Tulane Law School. Julie was recently recognized by CityBusiness as a member of its 2014 class of Women of the Year and is a past recipient of its Leadership in Law Award. She is an AV rated attorney by Martindale-Hubbell and has been recognized in its Bar Register of Preeminent Women Lawyers and as one of the Top 25 Women Lawyers in Louisiana. For many years, she has been consistently elected to Louisiana Super Lawyers, New Orleans Best Lawyers, and Best Lawyers in America for Labor & Employment Law. A longtime member of the NOMA Board, Julie is also a past Chair of the NOMA Volunteer Committee. She and her husband, Ted George, are the proud parents of two adult children.

Scott Cowen
Scott Cowen recently retired as Tulane University’s 14th President and currently serves as President Emeritus and Distinguished University Professor.

Joni Diaz
Joni has been a long-time member of the NVC serving as the 2008 LOVE in the Garden co-chair. She is an active member and former President of the Lake Vista Garden Club and was a volunteer at Audubon Zoo in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

Margo DuBos
Margo DuBos is President and CEO of Gambit Communications, Inc. She is the founder of the Foundation for Entertainment Development and Education and is executive producer of the annual Big Easy Entertainment Awards. She served as a 2014 NOMA Odyssey co-chair.

Stephanie Feoli
Stephanie Feoli, director of the Zemurray Foundation, is a board member of Tulane University, the Audubon Nature Institute, the New Orleans Botanical Garden Foundation, the Posse New Orleans Advisory Board. She also serves on the advisory committee of the International Center for the Arts of the Americas at the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston. She is a member of Women of the Storm.

Dennis Lauscha
Dennis Lauscha is the President of the New Orleans Saints and the New Orleans Pelicans.

Janice Parmalee
Janice Parmelee is a retired investor in various businesses and has served on several non-profit boards. In addition to NOMA, she currently serves on the board of Lambeth House.

Britton Sanderford
Britton Sanderford is a local entrepreneur, most recently serving as Chief Technology Officer of Sensus, USA. Britton also serves as a board member for Isidore Newman School, New Orleans City Park, Greater New Orleans Science and Engineering Fair, Cooper Human Systems and was a 2014NOMA Odyssey co-chair.

Michael Smith
Michael Smith is the General Manager of Hyatt Regency New Orleans. In addition to joining the board at NOMA, Michael also serves on the boards of the New Orleans Aviation Board, New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau, New Orleans Tourism Marketing Commission, the Greater New Orleans Hotels Association, New Orleans Chamber of Commerce, New Orleans Business Alliance, Saints Hall of Fame, Audubon Society, and chairman of the 2015 UNCF Mayor’s Masked Ball.

They will join current board members:Herschel L. Abbott, Jr., Justin T. Augustine III, Sydney J. Besthoff II, Gail Catharine Bertuzzi, Siddharth (Sid) Bhansali, Robin Burgess, Daryl Byrd, Tommy Coleman, Maurice Cox, David F. Edwards, Penny Francis, Tina Freeman, Susan G. Guidry, Robert C. Hinckley, Mayor Mitch Landrieu, Paul Masinter, Mrs. Michael (Brenda) Moffitt, J. Stephen Perry, Donna Perret Rosen, Jolie Shelton, Kitty Duncan Sherrill, Mike Siegel, Alexandra Stafford, Susu Stall, Robert M. Steeg, Frank Stewart, Robert Taylor, Suzanne Thomas, Melanee Gaudin Usdin and Brent Wood.

About NOMA and the Besthoff Sculpture Garden
The New Orleans Museum of Art, founded in 1910 by Isaac Delgado, houses nearly 40,000 art objects encompassing 4,000 years of world art. Works from the permanent collection, along with continuously changing temporary exhibitions, are on view in the museum’s 46 galleries Fridays from 10 a.m. to 9 p.m.; Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; and Saturdays and Sundays from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. The adjacent Sydney and Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden features work by over 60 artists, including several of the 20th century’s master sculptors. The Sculpture Garden is open seven days a week, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday. The New Orleans Museum of Art and the Besthoff Sculpture Garden are fully accessible to handicapped visitors and wheelchairs are available from the front desk. For more information about NOMA, call (504) 658-4100 or visit